RSS
Image

Episode 9: Give, Giving Back and My First Giveaway

28 Jun




I am so excited for this episode; and, you should be too! I must confess; I have been hiding a secret project from my readers for a while now. Today, you get to see the first piece of an abstract, multi-piece art set I have kept under the curtain for several weeks! In celebration of my first ever multi-piece set, I am giving away this bandana!







All you have to do is find the hidden message within the abstract set and email me with what it says. In case you didn’t know, bunneahmunkeah is my Gmail address. I’m sure you can figure out the rest 🙂


I will unveil one piece of the set with every blog post until someone gets the message or I post the whole set of six. The first one to get it right gets the bandana shipped to them; I will even personalize it for you. I guess this means you have to actually read the blog 🙂 Last episode, I talked a bit about the changes to the blog format and gave you the dollar store tour of my garden. I hope you enjoyed it.


As many of you know, I am quite the shy bunny. Social networking has never been a huge interest of mine; nor am I phenomenal at communicating with people on a personal basis. I would much prefer a world of ghost towns run by robot cashiers than talking to strangers; sorry, humans.


I created an account on Reddit a few months ago; mainly to people watch. If you’ve never been to Reddit, it is an interesting site to say the least. People from all walks of life come together and essentially have open discussions; also tons of laughs… and trolls.


 One day I noticed a “join our Redditgifts condiment exchange” link and thought it would be interesting. Crazy bunny actually thought condiment exchange was just their way of saying gift exchange. Turns out people were sending each other ketchup and hot sauces from all over the world; they have all types of exchanges. Most of you already know we grow super hot peppers; so this was right up my alley.


I was a little late signing up; but, there was this thing called a nostalgia exchange. Oh… Why not!!! I mean, it’s only a stranger from the internet mailing a box of unknown contents to your home or office; what could possibly go wrong? Turns out, it was a GREAT idea! I’ve said a thousand times that if I could just give my work away for free, I would be happy. This gives me an opportunity to do just that. By now, my friends are probably sick of having random designs dropped off when we see each other. 


I would like to share with you the presents I received and the presents I made for my Nostalgia exchange. My box was packed with gifts, a really awesome chick in Cali spent way too much on me. I couldn’t believe a stranger would send me a huge box of presents!  


A cute little bird on a branch. It’s a Game of Thrones Mockingbird pin. Oh yeah!






Of course, it is all about sending someone a gift too. My recipient lives on the east Coast and is equally as amazing as the one who sent my presents. I couldn’t figure out what decade I wanted to showcase, so I picked a handful of decades and made a set of wall posters. Starting with the 1960’s comes a childhood favorite TV series. Yes, I am aware his character wasn’t introduced in the 60’s.








So, I will close each of these blog posts with a piece of the story behind the abstract set. There are six pieces and each piece is scattered across the United States. The first piece was given to a loved one in Seattle. He spent 4 months recovering out of state after suffering a brain hemorrhage. The genius actually bumped his head on the luggage door of a plane while flying to New York to volunteer with the Red Cross for Hurricane Sandy. Seriously, you have no idea how amazing this man is; without him, I wouldn’t be who I am. Naturally, he gets the first slice of abstractness. And with that, I leave you with the first piece of the puzzle. Enjoy.












Despite smacking his head during the plane ride in, he gave back selflessly for weeks in the cold. The world needs more people like the ones in those pictures. Look at the faces of the Volunteers! They are black, white, old, young, men and women alike; they all came to the aid of our neighbors in NYC. It wasn’t about ‘this religion’ VS ‘that religion’ OR ‘this political view’ VS ‘that political view’. Nothing gets accomplished when we fight like children; there are roughly seven BILLION people alive. If we are going to progress as a society, we HAVE TO stop fighting. It is time we all come together to improve the disaster that is becoming this world. This is what Good Americans do; this is what Good humans do; regardless of your background or beliefs!


I would like to thank you all for taking the time to stop by and read this. If you would like to see the full album from this episode, click here If this is your first visit to my blog, I invite you to check out this entry to learn a little more about me. The next part in this series will reveal piece two of the set and I’ll show more of the presents I sent and received. I want this blog to be something you enjoy reading and feel like is yours as well. If you enjoy the content I provide, I welcome you to share this entry with other awesome people. It means a lot to know my work is being shared with amazing people all over the world. I wish you all a beautiful day and I will see you again soon.










With Love!
Bunneah Munkeah

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 28, 2013 in Welcome

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell Me What You Think

 
