RSS
Image

Episode 8: Hobby Time Brings Changes to the Status Quo

13 Jun

It’s time for a fresh start. I have been hard at work in the studio and I have some new content coming out soon. Last episode, I released my first (and the world’s worst) YouTube video of me sewing and gradient dyeing a Necromancer Robe with a modded skull design based off Skyrim. I hope you enjoyed it (sans the editing skills). I believe I talked about my awesome video editing capabilities in the first episode; for those of you new to my blog.

This episode is about a hobby; gardening! This is my third year growing veggies and I love it. It’s work, but it gives me an excuse to pry my soulless ginger fingers away from my paintbrush and make food. Checkmate Farmville! It is a TON of work, but it is quite fun.

On top of all of the studio projects I have going on; there was tons of ground prep. After spreading bags of fertilizer and a truckload of compost over the plot, a very awesome friend showed up with his voodoo machine and tilled the ground for us.

After the prep, we applied a liquid fertilizer, dug holes, started planting the veggies and put up some cages to support the weight of tomatoes. When they get heavy, they can topple over pretty easily.  We grow tomatoes, cucumbers, potatoes (first time), the hottest peppers on earth (moruga Trinidad scorpion), bell peppers, strawberries, eggplant, zucchini, onions, garlic and even watermelons. Kinda like this:

We actually expanded the garden a few feet in all directions this year. More plants mean an even more abundant crop than years past. It’s beyond what we can eat, so the surplus is given away to people in need. Sometimes it’s a food bank, sometimes the homeless shelter. I would like to have enough to feed the world from my yard. Alas, I will give as much away as possible and maybe next year I will find a roomier place. Ideally, I would like to make it four times as big as it is now. I love giving fresh, organic produce to people. No franken crops for me šŸ™‚

Onto more serious matters:

I am making some changes to the way I put my content out.  The storytelling I was doing was more demanding that I am prepared for. So, in the footsteps of many bloggers before me, I am scaling back and sticking to what I know; creating and giving back. So, to the readers out there who read this with their children I apologize. Writing those stories is just not natural for me; and, frankly I have to focus on making a living.

I am still going to give stuffed animals away around Halloween; but, the Masquerade Ball blog post isn’t happening, sorry. In return, I will hopefully be able to put more content out since I don’t have to write a story around each one. If you hate me for this, I understand. I still love you though and welcome you back anytime!

As I close this episode of this blog, I would like to thank you for sticking around through the changes. My first blog was bound to be a learning experience. As I spoke a bit about giving away the produce we cannot eat, I encourage you to consider bringing a bag of groceries to you local homeless or domestic violence shelter or a place of worship with a food bank. It may be a small gesture of humility, but it is more than a lot of people do in a lifetime. Also, it will +1 Karma.

I welcome your thoughts and suggestions about the changes I have made if you have the time. Feel free to drop a comment below or catch up with me on Facebook or Twitter. The links are at the top-right of the page.

I would like to thank you all for taking the time to stop by and read this. If you would like to see the full album from this episode, click here!  If this is your first visit to my blog, I invite you to check out this entry to learn a little more about me. In the next episode, I will be showing off some of my new Summer designs for 2013; and, I have a surprise in store for you. I want this blog to be something you enjoy reading and feel like is yours as well. If you enjoy the content I provide, I welcome you to share this entry with other awesome people. It means a lot to know my work is being shared with amazing people all over the world. I wish you all a beautiful day and I will see you again soon. I will leave you with Agent Snuggles McDragonslayer doing what he does best; chewing on a bone while guarding the veggies šŸ™‚

Love One Another!   <<<This part is important!
Bunneah Munkeah

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2013 in Welcome

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell Me What You Think

 
