RSS
Image

Episode 4: Winning and Failing Like a Boss

22 Feb

After wrapping up the LAST EPISODE of the blog, the monsters chased me for three hours and GLaDOS told me I need to be a more humble person. So, I went to the store and picked up a self help book on training plush monsters and humility. There really is a self help book for everyone.

Chapter One: Learning From Your Mistakes

Today, I wanted to talk about an ancient sewing project that turned out amazing and one of my paintings that didn’t – okay its opposite’s day.

While I love working in the studio and have created some really fun things; I have always tried to remain humble. I know the minute the awesome goes to my head, I lose focus of the real reason I do what I do; helping the world suck a little less one plush monster at a time. As you may have guessed already, this episode is going to be about community involvement, positive encouragement and awesome 🙂

Plants VS Dexter

I haven’t always made the prettiest things. Some of my projects have been absolute failures. Like peanut butter and jelly quesadillas; let’s not talk about those. I was pretty ashamed of myself on that day.  Other times, I win hard. I like to think Plants VS Dexter was one of those times.

Believe it or not, PVD was my first oil on canvas painting. I had practice with oil paints, but never on a bona fide canvas. Painted on a massive 48 in X 48 in (122 cm X 122 cm) canvas, it took over a month to paint. Albeit, I wasn’t painting 12 hours a day, 6 days a week. The inspiration came from a very dramatic scene of one of my favorite programs ever – Dexter. I wanted to take the scene and make it happier in an ironic sort of way, so, what better way to do that than with a heaping serving of Plants VS Zombies. At the time, it was my biggest creative project and remained so until I started sewing the Greybeard Cloaks from Skyrim. I promise I am working furiously at putting those pictures into coherent blog episodes; we all know it’s why you are really here anyway. And now it’s time for some real beautiful goodness.

The Most Beautiful Hat EVER

I know what you’re thinking. You just have to have one, right? The good news is: this was made several years ago; when I was still sewing for no reason. I promise my technique has improved exponentially. When I finally get around to posting my Skyrim inspired work; I’m sure you will agree.

I would talk about how I made this monstrosity in great detail, but I’ll save you the pain and give you the highlights:

  1. Buy the ugliest fabric you find at a thrift store.
  2. Attack said fabric with weed whacker or spork.
  3. Apply duct tape
  4. Cry

I actually wrote this episode for a close friend. She is attending art classes and her instructor assaulted her work and efforts. As a result, she has been upset and contemplating quitting classes. I can’t help but feel outraged at the instructor. If someone had seen my hat and told me I had no future in sewing, I might have never sat in front of my machine again. I know I wouldn’t have sewn for months. I am lucky to have very positive influences in my life to encourage continual improvements and remind me of my potential. So, if you are out there reading this, keep your head up my dear friend.

The moral of the story is: never let haters bring you down! When someone says “you can’t/don’t/won’t…” realize they are trying to fill a void inside themselves and it has nothing to do with you. I have overcome some difficult obstacles to get where I am today and if anyone out there reading this feels discouraged; hold your head up and know that everything will work itself out. You have to work really hard; half efforts will get you nowhere. But, if you really want it and push your limits; you WILL make it happen.

This concludes the first portion of the self help book on tape.  Please flip the cassette over and press play.

Chapter 2: Maintaining Peace and Tranquility with Plush Monsters

Plush monsters have giant teeth and should be respected as such. While they are not the biggest fan of robot potatoes, plush monsters actually enjoy bringing happiness to children. Many critics would argue that there is no better pet for a young person who needs a loyal pet. The CDC has recently reported a record monster shortage at most children’s hospitals and treatment centers.

And with that note, I think I will host my first annual Plush Monster Charity Masquerade Ball. Ah, the ol PMCMB.  I was thinking The Ball could be on Halloween and I could spend the year making plush monsters in my free time to send to a children’s hospital – or multiple hospitals.  I know it is a while away, but I will work hard to make it as interesting as possible. Again, your input is welcome here, Facebook or you can email me directly through Gmail; same username. If I am going to host the Ball in October, I am sure I will have better ideas by then. Hopefully.

This is my first attempt at doing an internet-involved community service project. Truth be told, I could have several dozens of pictures on my blog from various events; but, I really run from cameras 🙂 It’s the only exercise I get. I like being the silent heroine. I’m not in this for fame; I’m here to encourage everyone out there to think about the less fortunate people in their communities and make a difference. So, with that in mind, get out there and help the world suck less.

If you are a fellow artist and would like to participate, feel free to send me a message or jump in feet first.
I would like to thank you all for taking the time to stop by and read this. If you would like to see the full album from this episode, Click Here If this is your first visit to my blog, I invite you to check out This Entry to learn a little more about me.  The wait is over! My journey of bringing Skyrim to life with Greybeard Cloaks will be the center of my next entry. I want this blog to be something you enjoy reading and feel like is yours as well. If you enjoy the content I provide, I welcome you to share this entry with other awesome people. It means a lot to know my work is being shared with amazing people all over the world. I wish you all a beautiful day and I will see you again soon.

Up, Up & Away!

Bunneah Munk

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 22, 2013 in Welcome

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell Me What You Think

 
