RSS
Image

Episode 3: Hearts, Roses and Portal for Valentine’s Day

14 Feb

Welcome to my Valentine’s Day edition of… whatever this is. It has been a busy week for me. In case you missed the last episode, I narrowly escaped an almost-certain death at the hands of some really nasty zombies. Thanks for your concern. Today is a beautiful day. I’ve made a robot friend and I’m partying with two awesome monsters. What could go wrong?

As 2012 fades into a distant memory, it’s hard to believe that Valentine’s Day is already here. I really don’t want this to be sappy. As a matter of a fact, I believe the act of giving someone something awesome to say I love you should come out of the blue. Not every February 14th because ‘it’s what you do’. But, I’m still a gamer girl that loves all things cute. So, with this in mind, let’s start the show.

Love Potions and Portal Inspired Companion Cube Mask
   

In the tradition of the last post, I included more vials and another mask today. How can any gamer not be in love with Portal? I’m this close to getting my Portal gun functioning. Maybe I can finally get out of this room; I’m hungry and this crazy woman keeps inviting me over for cake. I’ve eaten all of my apples, chugged the last of my stamina potions and all I have left is this love potion. Great! It’s not even real! Some Valentine’s Day this is turning out to be.

Well, I suppose you may want to know how how the potions and masks were crafted. I described how I made them both in Episode 2 which is packed with zombie goodness. The only difference is the mask and the potion have glitter added, because everything is better when it sparkles. The potions have acrylic paint mixed into the resin, as opposed to the clay from the zombie, virus and cure vials.

Tough Girl Arm Warmers and Kawaii Buttons Galore

Upon closer examination of the lace arm warmers, I noticed a heart shaped object. That must be the secret admirer button GLaDOS warned me about. Cake! It’s all I can think about. Confound that evil robot woman. Now that I look at them a little closer, the rainbow speckled hearts arm warmers resemble a cake with sprinkles. If I could only get this stupid gun to work. Is it missing ammunition? Is this where the buttons go?

The arm warmers are made from a basic pattern. I serge them together and will post more in-depth construction pictures if enough interest is out there. The buttons are made by combining three metric tons of clay with a bored Bunneah 🙂 The rose shank buttons are made by inserting a toothpick in though the side and baking with the toothpick in. After cooling, the toothpick is removed and a cast made from the best one of the batch. The rest of the buttons were made with their respective casts.

Kitty and Pinkie Monsters
  

 

 

At the beginning of the day, it was me, a kitty and a cute albino monster in this room. Like a genius, I tried putting the rose buttons into the Portal gun and now I have a Kitty and… Pinkie, that’s what I’ll call her. You know, waiting for this cake is really getting on my nerves. I wonder how edible these monsters are? Oh no! Bad idea… RUN!

Well, here I am sitting in a corner hiding from some understandably angry monsters. I think I will have my gun up and running soon so I can finally have a slice of that chocolaty strawberry goodness. I’m sure that, within the next year, I will post an actual step-by-step construction guide for the pillow monsters. I promise as I create new things, I will make a point to take more depth pictures to share. Stick with me and I’ll get the hang of this internet friends thing. If you are enjoying the content,  you can show your support by picking up one of my all time favorites: Portal 2 for PC on Amazon.

I can’t blog about the color pink, hearts, and Valentine’s Day without encouraging all of you ladies reading to remember the importance of regular breast cancer screenings. Early detection is critical. You can find a hospital or clinic offering free screenings near you HERE
I would like to thank you all for taking the time to stop by and read this. If you would like to see the full album from this episode, CLICK HERE If this is your first visit to my blog, I invite you to check out THIS ENTRY to learn a little more about me. I’m thinking the next episode will be a surprise. I have been editing photos for hours and I need a break. I want this blog to be something you enjoy reading and feel like is yours as well. If you enjoy the content I provide, I welcome you to share this entry with other awesome people. It means a lot to know my work is being shared with amazing people all over the world. I wish you all a beautiful day and I will see you again soon.

Wishing you and all of your loved ones a Happy Valentine’s Day 🙂

Bunneah Munk

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2013 in Welcome

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell Me What You Think

 
