RSS

Episode 1: Stepping Into the Blogosphere

10 Feb









Hello and welcome to my blog. I want to keep this short and to the point so you don’t fall asleep. I will start by saying that I am honored to have you as a guest; and, I want to thank you for allowing me to occupy some of your time today. My name is Bunneah and I am an aspiring, independent Mixed Media Artist & Cosplay Fashion Designer on the West Coast.








My roots are very humble; growing up the daughter of an Army Veteran. I was taught from a very young age to give selflessly back to my local community and to be as colorful and original as possible. In high school, I volunteered with disabled children and spent my summers working/volunteering at a local hospital.


After high school, I joined AmeriCorps and spent two years as a Volunteer Literacy Tutor. During my term, I put in over 4,000 hours of community service with: libraries, hospitals, the US Department of Energy and I even sat on a local Truancy Board.























I started sewing while I was extremely young. After AmeriCorps, I decided to hone my seamstress skills and I took a class in Oil Painting. The result was a decision to open my own shoppe on Etsy and pursue designing on a full time basis. 


My work is not bargain basement priced. I refuse to use low quality materials and fabrics. Even the shirts and hoodies I put my designs onto are 100% premium, American cotton and aren’t sewn in some slave factory. I refuse to line the pockets of people so greedy, they are willing to take advantage of fellow brothers and sisters in the name of making a few extra dollars. What a terrible way to live your life. Here are some of my other designs:

















This is my first attempt to focus on myself in a career sense. I’m so accustomed to volunteering, I honestly don’t know where to start with this whole ‘making money’ thing. I have never been great at asking for money for the pieces I design and sew. I currently work out of a 12 X 12 bedroom with boxes of supplies stacked to the ceiling; but, I really would like to change that soon. My ultimate dream is to somehow have a studio and just give away my work. I am extremely shy and I have no interest in fame or riches. Neither of them will make me happy, so I focus on bringing light into the lives of the less fortunate.



I know things around here look a bit untidy and barren right now; but, I promise I’ll continue to make improvements to my layout and add original content as often as my schedule allows. Suggestions are always welcome to improve the accessibility or eye-friendliness. Please feel free to leave a comment if something needs work. I believe in setting realistic expectations for my readers. You should know that:


  • There will be random giveaways. I love knowing my work is bringing a smile to someone somewhere; so, if you keep an eye out, you might win random awesomeness.

  • I am not a professional blogger. This is my first real effort to share my work with the interwebs. So, if you’re expecting perfection and HD content, be prepared to be very disappointed.

  • This blog is mainly going to focus on my work in the studio. I primarily design Cosplay Costumes and everyday clothing inspired by video games like Skyrim, Oblivion and Assassin’s Creed.

  • I also love to paint. After two years of Volunteer service with AmeriCorps, I took college oil painting classes and fell in love. So, unlike this post, my blog is going to be packed corny jokes and pictures of garments and paintings. Apologies in advance.

  • I have not always taken pictures with the forethought of sharing them with you fine people in such a public manner. I never imagined anyone would consider my work worthy of money. I just don’t think like that, I really hate money. Then again, I’m not here to compete with anyone. Once this becomes a competition, it’s not fun for me anymore. I am hoping to showcase how I have evolved as an artist and designer. So, my early work is less than well documented.

  • This blog is for you and people like you! If you enjoy the costumes, paintings or random words of love herein; I invite you to share my blog with likeminded friends, family and neighbors. You are also welcome to connect with me on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Google+ and just about everywhere else on the web. Links will be provided at the end of this post. I do not post very often, so you don’t have to worry about me flooding your news feed or Twitter stream.

  • I am not a professional photographer and my posts from older projects will certainly reflect this. As a matter of a fact, I don’t even own a camera. It’s actually just an old, dehydrated potato with a lens glued on. I have been upgrading my studio and equipment slowly. However, I do want to show some of my earlier, unpolished work and talk a little about my community involvement from time to time. Don’t be surprised if you see all kinds of crafty goodness hiding in my blog.

  • Above all else – I would like to take a moment to encourage everyone reading this to get involved in your communities. You don’t even have to break out your wallet to make a difference. Spending just one day a month helping someone that has less than you is a great way to help build your neighborhood. Donate blood, help build a home for a less fortunate family, give free lap dances to firefighters if that’s your style! Just do something positive for your community and earn some good Karma. Links to get involved with the Red Cross and Habitat for Humanity are included at the top of this page.

I want to thank you again for reading this. The pictures are coming with the next post. I have been furiously at work trying to get pictures edited and sorted. I don’t want to give too much away; so, just know that I will fill your need for zombies very soon 🙂 As I leave you today, I would like you do something for me, for you… for no reason whatsoever. Take a moment to have a good look into the mirror and remind yourself that you are an awesome person. It just makes the day go so much better.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 10, 2013 in Welcome

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell Me What You Think

 
